37 UTDRO Trainees Join Alumni Family

Jun 8, 2017


On May 31, 2017, UTDRO faculty members, trainees and friends and family congregated in Hart House's Great Hall to celebrate the graduation of our trainees. This year, 4 Physics Residents, 6 Radiation Oncology Residents and 27 Fellows completed their training programs and received their diplomas.

The evening kicked off with a welcome from Dr. Glen Bandiera, Associate Dean of the Postgraduate Medical Education at the Faculty of Medicine. Following this, UTDRO's three Vice Chairs, Dr. Rebecca Wong, Dr. Mike Milosevic and Dr. Shun Wong, took the stage to congratulate the trainees and present them with their diplomas.

In addition to the graduation, several trainees and faculty members also receieved awards. A list of the graduands and award winners is available below.

The day wrapped up with a final cake cutting to wrap up UTDRO's year-long 25th anniversary celebrations. Our congratulations to all the trainees and our faculty for a very productive and successful quarter century. 



Awards presented at Postgraduate Reception

R. S. Bush Award - Academic Excellence in Research by a Radiation Oncology Fellow

Magali Lecavalier-Barsoum

J. R. Cunningham Award - Academic Excellence in Research by a Physics Resident

Ekaterina Tchistiakova

Richard P. Hill Award - Academic Excellence in Research by a Graduate Student

Elizabeth Koch

W. J. Simpson Award - Academic Excellence in Research by a Radiation Oncology Resident

Pencilla Lang

Best Poster Award

Christianne Hoey
Chair's Award for Academic Excellence in Research Jennifer Kwan
Resident's Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching Jennifer Croke
Resident's Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching by a Fellow Adam Gladwish

Physics Resident "Choice Award" - Residents' Award for Excellence in Physics Teaching

Melanie Davidson

Graduating Trainees

Medical Physics Residents:

  • Shahram Mashouf

  • Dominique Fortin

  • Derek Liu

  • Cindy Tam

Radiation Oncology Residents:

  • Salman (Muhammad) Faruqi

  • Mark Niglas

  • Hamid-Reza Raziee

  • Danielle Rodin

  • Horia Vulpe

Radiation Oncology Fellows:

  • Motasem Al-Hanaqta

  • Alireza Fotouhi Ghiam

  • Adam Gladwish

  • Robert Thompson

  • Majed Alghamdi

  • Hossam Alassaf

  • Hane Muamenah

  • Jonathan Klein

  • Fatimah Alfaraj

  • Melvin Chua

  • Reem Ujaimi

  • Magali Lecavalier-Barsoum

  • Taghreed Al-Hindi

  • Hester Lieng

  • Vivian Yau

  • Kevin Chiu

  • Shira Felder

  • Georgia Harris

  • Andrea Lo

  • Monali Swain

  • Anil Tibdewal

  • Abdulla Al-Rashdan

  • Ali Hosni

  • Fawzi Abu-hijla

  • Shirin Namini

  • Aravindhan Sundaramurthy

  • Michael Jones

Back to Top