Radiation Oncology

Collaborative Research Seed Grant Competition

The UTDRO Collaborative Research Seed Grant was established to encourage collaborative research and innovation in radiation medicine. This competition supports meritorious projects, which have the potential to significantly impact the science of radiation medicine and improve patient outcome.

This grant is awarded to UTDRO faculty members at the five affiliated cancer centres:

  • Odette Cancer Centre (OCC)
  • Princess Margaret Cancer Centre (PM)
  • Stronach Regional Cancer Centre
  • Carlo Fidani Peel Regional Cancer Centre (Trillium Health Partners)
  • Simcoe Muskoka Regional Cancer Centre

One competition is held every year and two seed-grants of $50,000 are awarded in each competition. Applications from all areas and disciplines of radiation medicine are encouraged. The grants may be used to support the direct costs of research, including supplies, salaries (but not UTDRO faculty salaries) and equipment associatedwith the proposed work.

For details on funding, criteria and the application process please download the Terms of Reference.

To apply, download the Application Form.


Funded Projects

The following projects have been successfully funded by the UTDRO Seed Grant.



Caroline Chung (PM)
May Tsao (OCC)
Jason Wong (Stronach)

The Toronto Brief Neurocognitive Battery (BNB) Development of a novel brief telephone battery for neurocognitive assessment of patients with brain metastases


Tom Purdie (PM)
Mark Ruschin (OCC)
Beibei Zhang (Stronach)

Prospective Collection of Tolerance Outcomes in Women receiving Breast Cancer Radiotherapy: A Multi-Institutional Initiative


Kathy Han (PM)
Scott Bratman (PM)
Eric Leung (OCC)

Circulating HPV DNA in Patients with Locally Advanced Cervical Cancer Treated with Definitive Chemoradiation


Brad Wouters (PM)
Ian Poon (OCC)
Jason Wong (Stronach)



Marianne Koritzinsky (PM)
Shun Wong (OCC)
Juhu Kamra (Simcoe Muskoka)

Metformin with neoadjuvant chemoradiation to improve pathologic responses in rectal cancer: a phase I-II trial.


Jennifer Croke (PM)
Lisa Barbera (OCC)
Eric Leung (OCC)
Matthew Follwell (OCC)
Doris Howell (OCC)
Helen MacKay (OCC)

Feasibility and Acceptability of Measuring Cervical Cancer Specific Patient-Reported Outcomes in Clinical Practice


Marco Carlone (PM)
Nicole Harnett (PM)

SIMAC Software Assessment


Joelle Helou (PM)
Christiaan Stevens (Royal Victoria)
Charles Catton (PM)
Antonio Finelli (PM)
Laura Dawson (PM)
Abhijat Kitchlu (Toronto General Hospital)

 Stereotactic Ablative Radiotherapy for Renal Tumors


Jennifer Croke (PM)
Meredith Giuliani (PM)
Janet Papadakos (UHN)
Sarah Rauth (Trillium)
Julia Skliarenko (Royal Victoria)
Tina Papadakos (PM)

Development and implementation of a brachytherapy discharge education program to build healthcare provider patient teaching competency toward improving patient engagement and quality of care

Beibei Zhang (Southlake)
Charles Cho (Southlake)
Timothy Craig (PM)
Danny Vesprini (OCC)
Melanie Davidson (OCC)

Reducing Acute Rectal Toxicity for Hypofractionated Prostate Radiotherapy – An Multi-institution Investigation of Reduced PTV Margin